January 17, 2004

Music from the Memorial

Musical prelude - Rittenhouse String Quartet
"Theme and variations"
--from Quartet in d-minor, Op. 20 No. 4 - Joseph Haydn

"Allegro ma non troppo"
"Menuetto: Allegretto"
"Allegro moderato"
--Mvts. 1, 3 & 4 from Quartet in a minor, Op. 29
("Rosamunde") - Franz Schubert

(N.B. RSQ were also prepared to play a string arrangement of the soprano
aria, "Mein glšubiges Herze", from Cantata 68 by Bach, but it was 2pm and
time to start the service, so they omitted this piece.)

First musical interlude - Rittenhouse String Quartet
--Mvt. 2 from Quartet in a minor, Op. 29 ("Rosamunde") - Schubert

Second musical interlude - Emily Kelly, accompanied by Charity Wicks
"Abendempfindung an Laura", K. 523 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
(text by Joachim Heinrich Campe)

Third musical interlude - Jonathan Fink
Selection from unaccompanied cello suite - Johann Sebastian Bach

Musical postlude - Rittenhouse String Quartet
--Mvt. 1 from Concerto in E Major, Op. 8 No. 1, RV 269
("Spring") - Antonio Vivaldi

Posted by ptomblin at January 17, 2004 02:30 PM